

Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana

CORY KIEF PRESIDENT

DREW KEAHEY VICE PRESIDENT

POST OFFICE BOX 2961 • BATON ROUGE, LA 70821

WWW.ALBL.ORG

LOUISIANALEVEE@LIVE.COM

MONICA GORMAN SECRETARY/TREASURER

"WITHOUT FLOOD CONTROL, NOTHING ELSE MATTERS"

MINUTES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MARCH 3, 2023

President Cory Kief called to order the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana's (ALBL) Executive Committee Meeting at 10:00 a.m., Friday, March 3, 2023, at Drusilla Seafood Restaurant in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. There were eighteen (18) member agencies present which constituted a quorum. Also present from our congressional delegations was Congressman Garret Graves, as well as the following staffers: Paul Sawyer (Graves), Robyn Krieger (Scalise), John Chautin (Higgins), Greg Ellison (Higgins) Ramona Martin (Letlow), Jay Vicknair (Kennedy), and Kathy Stuart (Cassidy). Liz Murrill and Morgan Brugard were also present from the Attorney General's Office.

Motion by Mr. Henry, seconded by Mr. Bourgeois to approve the minutes of the December 1, 2022, Executive Committee Meeting. Motion passed without opposition.

The Financial Report was given by Ms. Monica Gorman who updated the budget from the last Executive Committee Meeting. The following balances formed the working capital of the ALBL: checking account \$166,626.75; savings \$70,808.82; Litigation Savings Account \$15,906.01. Motion by Mr. Keahey, seconded by Ms. Chandler to accept the financial statement. Motion passed without opposition.

Mr. Kirkpatrick gave the Legislative Committee Report and stated that April 13, 2023, is the start of the legislative session and March 31, 2023, is the pre-filing deadline. The Committee will meet before session starts to review any bills that may affect the members of the Association.

Mr. Peterson stated that the USACE is taking comment on WRDA 2022 until March 21, 2023. CPRA will be sending out comments. Mr. Peterson will forward the information to Ms. White who will distribute to the membership.

Mr. Leon spoke about a resolution passed by Rapides Parish to pull out of the RRABB Levee District. He has not seen the legislation yet but it is something to look out for. Mr. Dupre advised that if they create a new district, they can't take the money generated and a new funding mechanism would need to be established.

Motion by Mr. Keahey, seconded by Mr. Minsky to go into Executive Session. Motion passed without opposition.

Motion by Keahey, seconded by Curole to come out of Executive Session. Motion passed without opposition.

Motion by Mr. Keahey, with a unanimous second to have the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana join the Attorney General's office in the Risk Rating 2.0 lawsuit against FEMA. Motion passed by acclamation.

MINUTES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MARCH 3, 2023 PAGE 2

Mr. Dietmar Rietschier gave the Watershed Initiative Committee Report and advised that region 9 has been created for the Amite River Basin Commission.

There were no nominations from the floor for the Governor's Advisory Commission for Coastal Protection Restoration & Conservation. The six (6) names that were previously received will be sent in:

Earl Landry, Chenier Plain Coastal Restoration & Protection Authority

Randy Noel, Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection – East

Suzanne Krieger, St. Tammy Levee Drainage & Conservati9on District

Angela Hidalgo, Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District

John Helmers, Plaquemines Parish Government

Kelli Chandler, Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority - East

Nominations from the floor for the Feral Hog Management Advisory Task Force are as follows:

Dakota Fitch, Terrebonne Levee Conservation District

Blaine Sheets, Pontchartrain Levee District

Chris Humphreys, Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection – East

Kevin Cheramie from Golden Meadow

Mr. Kief will submit the names for the Commission and Task Force.

Ms. White stated that the draft program for the upcoming ALBL Annual Workshop is in everyone's packet. A Panel Discussion regarding Risk Rating 2.0 was suggested for the open slot. DOTD will moderate a legal session for CLEs that will include, Ethics, Professionalism, and Public Law.

There was no Old Business.

There was no New Business.

Motion by Mr. Keahey, seconded by Mr. Helmers to adjourn. Motion passed without opposition.

MINUTES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MARCH 3, 2023 PAGE 3

Attendees:

Curt Boniol, DOTD

Henri Boulet, Morganza Action Coalition

Dwayne Bourgeois, North Lafourche Levee District

Kelli Chandler, SLFPA-East

Owen Bordelon, SLFPA-West

Michael Brocato, St. Mary Levee District

Morgan Brugard, Attorney General's Office

Nick Cali, SLFPA-West

John Chautin, Congressman Clay Higgin's Office

Peter Connick, SLFPA-West

Windell Curole, South Lafourche Levee District

Jacob Dagate, Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District

Katie DeRoche, North Lafourche Levee District

Reggie Dupre, Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District

Greg Ellison, Congressman Clay Higgin's Office

Dakota Fitch, Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District

Monica Gorman, Pontchartrain Levee District

Congressman Garret Graves

Greg Hardy, DOTD

John Helmers, Plaguemines Parish Government

Donald Ray Henry, Lafourche Basin Levee District

Debbie Henton, Police Jury Association

Drew Keahey, Tensas Basin Levee District

Cory Kief, North Lafourche Levee District

Scott Kirkpatrick, Pelican State Partners

Edward Knight, DOTD

Robyn Krieger, Congressman Steve Scalise's Office

Suzanne Krieger, St. Tammany Levee District

Andrew Leon, RRABB

Alex Lopresto, Teche Vermilion Fresh Water District

Ramona Martin, Congresswoman Julia Letlow's Office

Tim Matte, St. Mary Levee District

Reynold Minsky, Fifth Louisiana Levee District

Liz Murrill, Attorney General's Office

Randy Noel, SLFPA-East

David Peterson, CPRA

Jason Placke, CPRA

Dwight Poirrier, Pontchartrain Levee District

Dietmar Rietschier, Amite River Basin Commission

Ronnie Robinson, SLFPA-West

Donald Sagrera, Teche Vermilion Fresh Water District

Paul Sawyer, Congressman Garret Graves's Office

Blaine Sheets, Pontchartrain Levee District

Tom Stephens, EBR Parish Public Works

Kathy Stuart, Congressman Bill Cassidy's Office

Jay Vicknair, Congressman John Kennedy's Office

Brandon Waggoner, Tensas Basin Levee District

Jay Walker, Morganza Action Coalition

Danny Walker, Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District

Amber White, ALBL